Blog Feature, Fantasy, High Fantasy, Reviews

A Court of Thorns and Roses-Book Review

What can be said about A Court of Thorns and Roses (ACOTAR) by Sarah J. Maas that hasn’t already been said.

There are people that swear by this book and say its good, which is correct. But, then there are others that say it’s not deserving of all the attention, which is also oddly correct.

ACOTAR for me could go either way. There are many elements that the author does well, but there are a few small sections of the book where the flow of events is not nearly as smooth.

The writing itself, while good, reminds me of the style most 2010s’ fan fiction is written in. I don’t know how else to describe it.

All of the characters are likable, they feel very fleshed out so I’m definitely curious about what’s in store for them in the future of the series. One of the things I most enjoyed is that when it came to character details, their personalities, came about very organically through their actions and interactions with other characters.

The romance is such a high point for me. I feel like I’m slowly inching my way into the romance genre. My only thing with Romance as a whole, is that I want there to be more, I don’t want the entire plot to be just “will they, won’t they end up together.” Actually, one of the reasons I like fantasy/high fantasy is because romance tends to fit in somewhere into the story as a subplot and as a subplot I, for whatever reason, seem to enjoy it a thousand times more. ACOTAR toes the line a little. I wouldn’t say romance is a subplot, but there does seem to be way more at steak.

ACOTAR hits the target audience amazingly. Romance fans, this book is for you, fantasy more your style, the book still does incredibly well. The world building feels expansive but it still feels like a small snippet of what’s to come.

Initially I didn’t think I’d care to much about continuing the series but the ending really changed my mind. I’ll probably be listening on audiobook (if I can get it on Hoopla or Libby – you know me, I like a free book!).

ACOTAR by Sarah J. Maas is a 4 star for me. It doesn’t stand out to me from other great fantasy books I’ve come to love, but the components of the story make it a very enjoyable read, so it is at least better than 3 stars(which is what I consider average).

Also, I’ve heard mention that this book can sometimes be considered “spicy” but if spicy books are not up your alley, rest assured this book is pretty tame. I think there is one scene that is technically “spicy” but it’s not extreme. Personally I’d say that anyone younger than sixteen should probably not be reading this but for anyone else its okay.

Leave a comment